In fifty years (Jez)

5 Feb

100wcgu-72

A warning from the future for this protagonist:

Out of the blue I realised. Looking in the mirror I blinked and saw myself in fifty years time. I was not happy. Sure, that’s me, but something wasn’t right at all. I looked closer. I was lonely, had no family, was nothing but a bald headed loner. How did this happen? I feel like an alien, don’t feel comfortable in my own skin all of a sudden. I think back to my life. Could I have done anything different? I make myself promise that I won’t end up like that. I will make it different.

5 Responses to “In fifty years (Jez)”

  1. Pamela Shaw February 5, 2013 at 8:29 pm #

    Jez, what a poignant piece of writing which got me thinking about how we see ourselves in the future – well done, Mrs Shaw

  2. K Hmaimou February 5, 2013 at 9:00 pm #

    This is great writing Jez – poignant, but hopeful at the same time. Fantastic! Mrs. Hmaimou

  3. H Knox February 13, 2013 at 6:32 pm #

    What a great piece of writing Jez. Well Done! Mrs Knox

  4. Lianne Allison February 13, 2013 at 9:40 pm #

    I wonder how the character will make it different. A great piece to make you think about choices! Wow!

  5. Afriez July 22, 2013 at 7:10 pm #

    I found your writing when I was exploring the Inspire site. Just wanted you to knos that someone far away…Montana, USA enjoyed your words 🙂

Leave a Reply

