Out Of The Blue (Russell)

4 Feb

100wcgu-72

This short story is entered into 100WC (a short story competition inviting young writers to create a 100 word piece following on from the weekly prompt issued). This week’s prompt: Out of the blue…

I realised I wasn’t alone. I was in bed and I heard a noise downstairs, so I got out of bed to see what the noise was. When I got downstairs, I looked around anxiously. I couldn’t see a thing, and returned to bed. Then I heard the noise again, this time upstairs, and louder. I opened my door hesitantly and there was a dark shadowy man standing in front of my door, I slammed the door and locked it. I ran to the phone and dialed but I felt an ice cold hand on my shoulder. I hung up.

5 Responses to “Out Of The Blue (Russell)”

  1. Miss Brady February 4, 2013 at 7:03 pm #

    I love the words you have used here Russell…’anxiously’ and ‘ice cold’ really set the tone of this piece of writing. Very impressive!

  2. K Hmaimou February 5, 2013 at 9:10 pm #

    Great writing, Russell! This has the sinister feel of a nightmare. Fantastic! Mrs. Hmaimou

  3. Harper February 6, 2013 at 6:57 pm #

    I liked your story because you put a lot of thought and time into it. You used good words too, like anxiously. Thats a great descriptive word. In my 100 WC there was lots of suspense. I think that it would be weird if that person can disappear into the shadows. What happens to the man that was on the phone?

  4. amanderson66 February 7, 2013 at 8:30 am #

    Lots of suspense and tension created really effectively. Well done!

    • mrsjmaitland February 7, 2013 at 8:15 pm #

      Russell you should be really proud of this! This just goes to show what you can do when you put your mind to it!

Leave a Reply

