Out Of The Blue (By Ben)

4 Feb

100wcgu-72This short story is entered into 100WC (a short story competition inviting young writers to create a 100 word piece following on from the weekly prompt issued). This week’s prompt: Out of the blue…

The noise of screeching tires, the smell of burning rubber. I turn around and headlights are charging at me like a bull. The driver, motionless, my life flashing before me, I dive out the way. My bones crunch and my head smacks the curb leaving me helpless. Then the lights are back, and approaching even faster. I try to move but I am weary, and damaged. Visibility is low, it is dark, foggy and the headlight blinds. This is the end. I try to crawl, my arm is severely crushed. Blood is gushing out of my pounding head. Bye Mum.

9 Responses to “Out Of The Blue (By Ben)”

  1. Jenny (Team100wc) February 10, 2013 at 1:22 pm #

    Wow what a descriptive and scary story! Brilliant use of the prompt- well done!

  2. Mrs J Maitland February 12, 2013 at 9:44 pm #

    CONGRATULATIONS on being showcased as one of the 15 best stories in the global challenge this week out of 615 stories!!!! Amazing work!

    • Miss Loversidge February 13, 2013 at 10:32 pm #

      Great news, well done!

  3. Hannah February 13, 2013 at 1:45 pm #

    Some very unexpected things happoned in you’re story Ben.You are a great desriber. can I borrow you’re brain.

  4. Driti February 13, 2013 at 8:48 pm #

    Brilliant work. however, i am struggling to find the prompt – out of the blue! where is it?
    Moderator comment: students weren’t told to include it this week (was my first week in the comp)! We will know for next time!

  5. H Knox February 13, 2013 at 9:32 pm #

    Wow! What a fab story Ben – really emotive language. Fantastic! Mrs Knox

  6. Miss Loversidge February 13, 2013 at 10:31 pm #

    This piece really sets the scene – I can imagine what it looks and sounds like. Well done! 🙂

  7. louism February 20, 2013 at 10:55 am #

    wow!!!! That was a great piece of work but will you do another story like this?
    You deserve to be showchased.
    Comment at our blogs high lawn school 5T from louism : )

Leave a Reply

