Out Of The Blue (Adam)

4 Feb

100wcgu-72

This short story is entered into 100WC (a short story competition inviting young writers to create a 100 word piece following on from the weekly prompt issued). This week’s prompt: Out of the blue…

BOOM! Screeeech! MMMHH… The sound of screeching tires, the smell of gas, and sewage. Rubble underneath me, burning my back. I’m afraid my back is as burnt as it feels. My lungs are choking with smoke. The stench of the place surrounds me and the world around me is ablaze. I can just about make out this street is now a crater – all beyond that is oblivion. Pain shivers through my body and sparks shoot across my eyes. In my mind I’ve gone somewhere else. I feel what I always imagined electricity would feel like coursing through my veins.

11 Responses to “Out Of The Blue (Adam)”

  1. Miss Reynolds February 4, 2013 at 3:44 pm #

    I love the imagery you’ve used Adam, well done!

  2. Miss Brady February 4, 2013 at 6:57 pm #

    I love the darkness of this Adam, you have managed to transport the reader into your thoughts and your mind – super impressed!

  3. Lianne Allison February 4, 2013 at 10:12 pm #

    What fantastic descriptions – I felt like I was watching the scene!!!

  4. MRs H (team 100wc) February 7, 2013 at 7:59 am #

    An evocative piece of writing full of tension. Excellent vocabulary. Imaginative work. Keep up the good writing.

  5. amanderson66 February 7, 2013 at 8:31 am #

    Powerful and evocative use of imagery. Well done!

    • mrsjmaitland February 7, 2013 at 8:13 pm #

      Adam- such suspense created in such a short space of time – really well done!

  6. Mrs J Maitland February 12, 2013 at 9:43 pm #

    CONGRATULATIONS on being showcased as one of the 15 best stories in the global challenge this week out of 615 stories!!!! Amazing work!

    • Miss Loversidge February 13, 2013 at 10:29 pm #

      Yes, well done Adam, that’s great news!

  7. Mr Overton February 13, 2013 at 11:19 am #

    What a wonderful story. What a creative use pf the prompt. Really enjoyed reading your story!!

    Keep up the good work

    keep writing

    Mr Overton
    Leicester
    100 WC Team

  8. Miss Loversidge February 13, 2013 at 10:28 pm #

    The way you have written makes it easy to imagine this scene Adam- both the sights and the sounds of it. Well done! 🙂

  9. Liam February 15, 2013 at 11:54 am #

    great 100wc Adam check out ours 🙂 pittington.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

